The SOCMA Company

Joseph Ferrandez, the founder of SOCMA, a Narbonne-based company specializing in the design and manufacture of wine-making and industrial equipment, based in the “La Coupe” business park, was a 2007 prize-winner in the “Technological innovation” category.

The company has been rewarded on various occasions, and has received numerous prestigious prizes in recognition of its efforts and expertise. Joseph Ferrandez has been amassing awards and patents since 1997, the year of his first success: the Turbopigeur®, over 2,000 of which have been sold throughout the world. A minor setback had come one evening in 1996, with the withdrawal of his licence for the distribution of wine-making equipment, in common with all the dealers in the network. SOCMA was due to celebrate its 10-year anniversary. History has vindicated the company since. Since its launch, the Turbopigeur®, popular for its punch-down* capabilities, has been a prize-winner, rapidly obliging the company to leave its 400 m2 leased premises in the Croix Sud in favour of a 940 m2 site in La Coupe. Expansion by a further 240 m2 followed rapidly.

*Humidification of the marc cap for the extraction of tannin.

Ten awards later, SOCMA is posting a turnover of 2.7 million euros, employ 11 full-time staff and “almost as many temporary staff, depending upon orders”.

“At the moment, with earlier grape harvests, the pace is red hot” !

The workshop rumbles and roars, labouring like an overheating engine. At one station, the boilermaker welders

“displaying a rare expertise, in keeping with the stringency of our demands”

Elsewhere the electrical engineers, and beyond that the plastics processing station – an integrated facility, in the absence of a reliable partner – and the welding robot

“the same as that used by Audi”

Or again, the laser cutter. All connected to the design office computers.
Most recently: a vibrating destemmer, named “the Cube”, is already being exported to all four corners of the globe.

HISTORY

OUR RANGE

TURNKEY SOLUTIONS

SOCMA is committed to the design of turnkey systems, customized to your specific requirements. Whether wine-making equipment, agri-foodstuffs equipment, or any other production plant, SOCMA has the expertise at its disposal for any project.

STRINGENT EQUIPMENT QUALITY

With over 30 years of combined experience, SOCMA has become a leading operator in the wine-making and agri-foodstuffs industries. In addition to supplying high-quality equipment, SOCMA also sets demanding standards for the quality of its customer service.

PROCESSING

SOCMA delivers various services for processing and destemming operations, together with other wine-making and agri-foodstuffs facilities, to a wide range of clients in primary and secondary industries. Our production site is located at Narbonne, in France.

SERVICE

For your peace of mind, SOCMA also provides service facilities and technical support for all devices sold. Why wait weeks for a foreign supplier to send you what you need, when SOCMA can provide you with access to essential spare parts in just a few days.

Menu

La société SOCMA

Joseph Ferrandez, fondateur de la SOCMA, société narbonnaise spécialisée dans la conception et la fabrication de matériel vinicole et industriel, implantée zone de la Coupe, a été lauréat en 2007 dans la catégorie « Innovation technologique ».

La société a été récompensée plusieurs fois par de nombreux prix prestigieux grâce à ses efforts et son savoir-faire. Les prix et les brevets, Joseph Ferrandez les collectionne depuis 1997, date de son premier succès : le Turbopigeur® ; plus de 2 000 exemplaires vendus dans le monde. Une petite revanche pour lui, qui s’est vu retirer sa carte de distributeur de matériel vinicole un soir de 1996, comme l’ensemble des revendeurs du réseau. La SOCMA allait fêter ses dix ans. L’histoire lui donne raison. Dès son lancement, le Turbopigeur®, plébiscité pour ses capacités de pigeage*, obtient un prix et l’oblige rapidement à quitter les 400 m2 loués à Croix Sud. Direction la zone de la Coupe, où 940 m2 l’attendent. Vite complétés par 240 m2 de plus.

*Humidification du chapeau de marc pour en extraire le tanin.

Dix récompenses plus loin, la SOCMA affiche un chiffre d’affaires de 2,7 m€, emploie 11 salariés à temps plein et «presque autant en intérim en fonction des commandes ».

« En ce moment, avec des vendanges plus précoces, c’est chaud bouillant » !

L’atelier gronde, vrombit, turbine comme un moteur en surchauffe. Ici les chaudronniers à la soudure

« une compétence rare avec notre degré d’exigence »

Là les électro mécaniciens, plus loin le poste de plasturgie, intégré faute de partenaire fiable, le robot de soudure

« le même que chez Audi »

Ou le laser de découpe. Tous reliés aux ordinateurs du bureau d’études.
Dernier né : l’égreneur vibrant, baptisé Le Cube, s’exporte déjà aux quatre coins de la planète.

L'HISTORIQUE

GAMME DE MATÉRIELS

SOLUTIONS CLÉS EN MAIN

La Socma s’engage à concevoir des systèmes clé en main taillés sur mesure à vos besoins spécifiques. Que ce soit du matériel vinicole, agroalimentaire ou tout autre production, la Socma possède l’expertise pour tout projet.

UNE QUALITÉ DE MATÉRIEL EXIGÉE

Avec plus de 30 années d’expérience cumulées, la Socma est devenue un des leaders de l’industrie vinicole et agroalimentaire. En plus de fournir du matériel de qualité supérieure, elle est également exigeante sur la qualité de son service clientèle.

TRAITEMENT

La socma fournit divers services dans la transformation, l’égrenage et autre équipement vinicole et agroalimentaire à un large éventail de clients dans les industries primaires et secondaires. Notre site de production se trouve à Narbonne, en France.

UN SERVICE

Vous pouvez avoir l’esprit tranquille, elle fournit également le service et le support technique sur tous les équipements vendus. Pourquoi attendre des semaines un fabricant à l’étranger pour vous envoyer ce dont avez besoin quand avec la Socma vous pouvez avoir accès aux pièces de rechange essentielles en quelques jours.

Menu